Cover Your Tracks

If you do not use a password to log on to your computer, someone else will be able to access your email and track your internet usage. The safest way to find information on the internet would be at a local library, a friend's house, or at work.

If you are worried about someone knowing you have visited this website please read the following safety information.

Internet Explorer:
Click on the 'Tools' menu and select 'Internet Options'. On the General page, under Temporary Internet Files, click on 'Delete Cookies' and then 'OK'. Click on 'Delete Files', put a tick in the box labelled 'Delete all offline content' and click 'OK'. Under 'History', click on 'Clear History' and then 'OK'. Now look at the top of the window and click on the 'Content' tab, select 'Auto-Complete' and finally, 'Clear Forms'.

Chrome:
With Chrome you can use incognito mode (browse in private). Please find the instructions here how to turn on the mode: https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95464

Firefox/Netscape:
Click on 'Tools' and then 'Options', then click on 'Privacy'. Click on the 'Clear' button next to Cache and Saved Form Information.

Opera:
Click on 'Tools' and then 'Preferences'. Click on the 'Advanced' tab and then the 'History' section on the left hand side. Click the two 'Clear' buttons and the 'Empty Now' button.

Deleting your browsing history:
Internet browsers also keep a record of all the web pages you visit. This is known as a 'history'. To delete the history for Internet Explorer and Netscape/Firefox hold down the Ctrl key on the keyboard, then press the H key (Crtl, Alt and H for Opera). Find any entries that say www.asianwomencentre.org.uk, right click and choose Delete.


Toolbars:
Toolbars such as Google, AOL and Yahoo keep a record of the search words you have typed into the toolbar search box. In order to erase all the search words you have typed in, you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose 'Clear Search History'.

Email:
Print and save as evidence of abuse if an abuser sends you threatening email messages. Any sent e-mails can be checked in Sent Items folder. If you reply to any email, the original message will probably be in the body of the message – print and delete the email if you don't want anyone to see your original message.
When you delete an item in any email program, it does not really delete the item – it moves the item to a folder called 'Deleted Items'. In order to delete them completely go to Deleted Items folder and delete the individual items.

 

Services are provided in the following community languages : Gujarati, Punjabi, Hindi, Urdu and English.
Call 020 8961 6549/ 5701 or Contact Us.

Our partners

  • John Lyon's Charity
  • Brent Council
  • London Councils
  • National Lottery
  • OISC
  • Investor in People
  • Advice Quality Standard

Contact us

AWRC
108 Craven Park
Harlesden
London
NW10 8QE

T: 020 8961 6549/ 5701